Ted O’Brien Joins BOCOG for the 2032 Games

Ted O'Brien joins BOCOG

Sunshine Coast Federal MP, Ted O’Brien has been officially nominated to join the Brisbane 2032 Organising Committee for the Olympic and Paralympic Games (BOCOG), by Prime Minister Scott Morrison.

The Prime Minister’s Special Envoy to the 2032 Games, Mr O’Brien will join Tracy Stockwell OAM, Rebecca Frizelle OAM and Federal Minister for Sport, Senator Richard Colbeck on the powerful Games organising committee as the four federal nominated representatives.

O’Brien was instrumental in securing the 2032 Games through his then position as the Prime Minister’s personal representative for Brisbane’s candidature.

Mr O’Brien says that he is honoured to be nominated for a position on BOCOG by Prime Minister Scott Morrison and is looking forward to working with all levels of government, industry and the community to deliver the world’s best Games.   

“I am proud to join fellow Queenslanders Tracy Stockwell, Rebecca Frizelle and Minster Richard Colbeck on BOCOG,” Mr O’Brien said.

“It’s a privilege to be nominated by the Prime Minister and have an opportunity to keep working on this once in a lifetime opportunity for Queensland, including my home region on the Sunshine Coast.”

The Brisbane Olympic and Paralympic Games Arrangements Bill 2021 passed the Queensland Parliament earlier this month and provides for BOCOG to be established.

The BOCOG Board will be a newly established entity responsible for the organisation, conduct, promotion, commercial and financial management of the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The Commonwealth and Queensland Governments have initiated a joint process for the appointment of five independent Directors, including the President, to be finalised early in 2022.

The Commonwealth’s four nominations add to those already nominated for the BOCOG Board, including:

· Mr John Coates AC, President of the Australian Olympic Committee

· Mr Matt Carroll AM, CEO of the Australian Olympic Committee

· Mr Jock O’Callaghan, President of Paralympics Australia

· Mrs Robyn Smith, Australian member of the International Paralympic Committee Governing Board

· Ms Bronte Barratt OAM, elected athlete representative

· Mr Kurt Fearnley AO, elected athlete representative

· Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner, Brisbane City Council

· Mayor Karen Williams, Redland City Council (Lord Mayor’s nomination)

< Back to News

Stay in touch with Ted

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.